Diary of a man and his woodland

A blog about a man's dream to own a small woodland.

Someone turned on the “Spring switch”

Leave a comment

Have you ever had that feeling of being overwelmed by the beauty of something? It might be a cute baby animal, a stunning vista, a piece of music or food or the love of a close person. It’s a feeling inside your chest and head that’s hard to describe. You feel as if you can’t take it all in fully. You can’t absorb it enough, like an appetite that can’t be satisfied.  Yet you feel full as well, to the point of overflowing. Well that’s how I felt yesterday when I saw the woods. It was as if someone has turned on the “Spring switch”.  The woods have transformed beyond belief over the last two weeks. Not long ago this area was a browny mat of dead leaves and not much else. What you see here are the wood anemones in full flower. I have never seen this amount anywhere ever! Incredibly the flowers will die shortly, followed by the leaves and nothing of them will be visible for another year. These are ancient woodland indicators and according to one source, the roots only spread by twelve inches every 100 years! Not sure I’d agree with that as it’s obvious that in some areas, where I have targeted the brambles, mine have spread considerably. Or were they already there but just suppressed badly by the bramble? Bluebells are also opening now. Wherever I walked there was a delicate perfume in the air.

I’d been to a meeting in the morning. It was a Q&A session with the local Trees and Hedgerows Officer. These woods are protected by a TPO (Tree Preservation Order) which means we have to get permission before cutting any down. This man is in charge of dealing with TPOs. It was interesting but I already knew most of what he told us.

Arriving at the woods late morning, it was very warm amd sunny. I had few jobs in mind and decided it was a day to chill out, enjoy the fleeting beauty of early spring and chat to some of the other neighbours who had been at the meeting. I was pleased to see the wool nesting material I hung up for the birds has been popular.

I love this time of year when everything is new and vibrant. Fresh leaves still intact – nothing nibbled, spotty or mouldy. It doesn’t last long before they become food targets for birds, grubs, diseases, fungi etc. Some of the trees are starting to open their leaves. This beech is one of my favourites. The new leaves are almost lime green and so delicate.

The hazel copse at the Southern border is looking great. Taking the several large sycamore out last year and flooding it with light has paid off. Wood Anemones are doing better than ever and I noticed several clumps of tiny violets, previously only seen in one or two places. The flowers measure less than a centimetre and the colours stunning.

What a memorable day and how privileged I feel to have been able to enjoy it and claim stewardship of this little piece of land. I have put hours of work and energy into helping it along and the work is starting to show results. My reward is being able to enjoy the sights, sounds and smells and the satisfaction that I can work with nature in this way. I’ll leave you with a few more shots of the amazing Anemones.

 

 

Leave a comment